Skip to content

blogs i heart 2009.

December 17, 2009

if you’re anything like me, you have a list of blogs you check everyday or get excited when a new post pops up on your reader. some nights when i’m blogging or catching up on my faves, just clicking on one of their blogrolls takes me off in blog land for hours. hours. because sometimes you find one that pulls you in and next thing you know, you’ve hit “older posts” 37 times and you suddenly know the details of this strangers labor, what they ate for dinner on october 3rd and their grandmas special recipe for pot roast.  many of you have probably clicked on some of these blogs from my list, but still, i wanted to share 10 blogs i have really enjoyed finding this year (in no particular order).

1] baby rabies :: if you’re a mom and you read blogs, this one probably comes as no surprise to you and i’m willing to bet you read it, too.  i just really enjoy Jill’s writing, her honesty about parenting, and her sense of humor. rarely can i not relate to her, and that is what makes it one of my favorite reads. if it were acceptable and not annoying for me to reply with “omg, me too!” on every post, it would happen. one of my favorite things i ever read there was her description of the “heiney hoagie” and the perils of after-birth in her recovery post, because OMG, me too!

2] how about orange :: i pink puffy heart crafting. i’m not all that great at it, but gosh do i enjoy it. HAO has the cutest ideas and projects that are easy and freaking precious. download all kinds of goodies for free (my favorite!) like gift tags, desktop wallpapers, invites, note cards…the list goes on. plus tutorials on felt projects (love!), bow making, and tons of other ridiculously cute and fun things. i genuinely get a happy dance going when there is something new to try.

3] sesame ellis photoblog :: you know when you come across  a blog and you’re like “how does she do it?”? enter rachel devine. she’s just…lovely. everything about her, her family, her photography just makes me smile. if i kept going in this paragraph, it would just a be a string of adjectives that could put me in weirdo territory, so i’ll just say : i love this blog.

4] scott, lorie, henry & ben…but mostly henry & ben :: i can legitimately say i have NO idea how i found this little gem, but holy adorable family batman. i also happen to think lorie is sweet and head over heels in love with her boys, which is more than apparent by her words. oh, and she’s pretty and funny, both of which help when reading and looking at pictures of someone. just saying.

5] rave & review :: really good giveaways and honest reviews on products for little ones. i’d love to see leanne’s garage, because of all the cool stuff she must have accumulated! someday i might win something, and trust me, you’ll hear about it.

6] this is the first day of my life :: one day earlier this year i saw that HH had been linked in a new blog. i went to check it out and found emily, who had posted the nicest words about my little ol’ blog. it made me feel gushy inside and since then, we have become fast internet friends. she is pregnant with twins who will essentially be born the same time her first little dude turns ONE! Hud-B is one of the cutest little guys i’ve ever seen and i know the twins will be little lookers as well. i have a nice little blog family of girls whom i adore and Em is one of them.

7] smonk you :: is there anything cuter than a guy blogging about becoming a dad? i think not. my husband would never blog in a million years (i had to make a facebook for him, and even then he never uses it), but i feel like if he did, it would be like this. also, love the other perspective of pregnancy. you know the side who might want to say we are crazy but knows better?

8] regretsy :: i mean, really people, there are no words. props to the moon and back to my friend Jessica for introducing it to me. it’s just so.good.

9. matt, liz and madeline :: ok, this one is a cheat because i did not discover it in 2009. i started reading when i was just barely pregnant with Harper. if you watch Oprah or have ever been on the internet in general, you have probably heard of Matt and Maddy. i used to cry (like, ugly cry) at every post Matt wrote at the unimaginable pain he must have gone through (and still goes through). he is inspiring, funny, honest and i appreciate so much his willingness to share his & Maddy’s life with the rest of us.

10] dear baby :: just darling. and envy-inducing.

what are some of your favorite blogs?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 2:13 pm

    Awww. Thanks for the blog love, mama! You & Harper are awesome and through discovering your blog- I have found so many other rad blogs and new internet-friends! (Hi Em & Poppy, Kerri & Ella and Ita & Bresho!) as well as blogs I just kinda stalk (Hi McClelland’s and twins!) because they have much to teach this about-to-be-again-mama.

    Also through following your example I have found a few favorites from Top Baby blogs: Heir to Blair being one of my favorites.

    I’ve seen most of these blogs- but I will be sure to go check out the ones I haven’t yet visited.

    • Mandy permalink*
      December 17, 2009 10:29 pm

      i also totes enjoy blair.

  2. December 17, 2009 3:17 pm

    Ummm well you’ve got Dear Baby on there already, so I can’t list that, and Harper’s Happenings, but I guess that would be redundant ;)

    Other ones I quite enjoy are (and I’ve really just starting scouring for baby and mommy blogs):

    The Heir to Blair: This was the first one I found on my hunt for mommy blogs, and I adore her. I wish she would be my new friend. HA. Funny how the internet can do this to a person. She’s just way too funny and her son is adorable. Every post is a good one!

    http://theheirtoblair.com/

    Exploiting My Baby

    It’s Teresa Strasser from “While You Were Out” and she is SO funny. She hasn’t blogged a lot since her son was born, but it’s worth a read through the archives.

    http://teresastrasser.com/blog/

    That Girl Blogs

    A new one I found on SITS. I quite adore her:

    http://thatgirlblogs.com/

    • Mandy permalink*
      December 17, 2009 10:33 pm

      holy crap! exploiting my baby is awesome. ::bookmarks::

    • kirstenmcc permalink
      December 18, 2009 1:07 pm

      I really enjoy Me and My House:

      http://www.molliedonovan.blogspot.com/

      I arrived there via another blog from The Bump, she’s a really talented photographer and has two young daughters.

      And just out of curiosity, what is “Daily Drop Cap” that another person mentioned in their comment? Yes, I’m nosey. :)

      • Mandy permalink*
        December 18, 2009 1:11 pm

        it’s those cute artsy letters i use on the first word of my posts (when i remember to!)

    • May 16, 2017 5:20 am

      I told my kids we’d play after I found what I neeedd. Damnit.

    • May 17, 2017 6:47 am

      If the NJ Bar has found him guilty of grand theft, why isn’t he in jail? And if he is found guilty, and spends a little time in the Pokey one day more than a year, doesn’t he lose his priviledge to practice law anywhere in the US? I could be wrong, but it sounds good.

    • May 31, 2017 9:46 am

      Pauleen, I’ll look for the book. The only thing I would do differently if we were able to rewind back to the time we were looking would be to rent for awhile before we bought. That was mainly because of the unforeseen housing market crash just after we bought the house.

  3. December 17, 2009 3:20 pm

    yay! fun post! :)

    http://whenhellomeansgoodbye.blogspot.com/ is one of my favorites! be prepared to read for AT LEAST one hour. their story will make you cry, laugh, smile, think. its SO GOOD!

    and i also love love love dear baby. i found her on thebump.com and then top baby blogs once i found that site thru here. definitely envious of her story! could they be ANY CUTER!

    i cant wait to read all these new blogs that i can now stalk! yipee!

    • May 16, 2017 2:59 am

      Cottnagulaniors on having one of the most sophisticated blogs Ive come across in some time! Its just incredible how much you can take away from something simply because of how visually beautiful it is. Youve put together a great blog space –great graphics, videos, layout. This is definitely a must-see blog!

    • May 31, 2017 9:45 am

      Addendum to my previous post: Nutritional and environmental changes may also have contributed to the changes in morphology in the last thousands and ten-thousands years of AMH. So morphology may be more unreliable than we think in detecting the origins of a human group.

  4. December 17, 2009 7:00 pm

    Love your blog of course! One of my favorite blogs isn’t really a “mommy blog” is more of a “gosh I wish I had this much talent and time to do all of these things so well” blog: the pioneerwoman blog is my all time favorite. She’s a country girl, so if you’re not into country living you might be a little bored…but I love her photography lessons and she’s got a new cookbook out if you like that sort of thing. Another favorite food blog is bakerella…she’s awesome!! You’ll have to check these out when you get a chance.

  5. December 17, 2009 8:16 pm

    Keep up with this blog religiously! You really have to look back and read the “story” behind Stephanie.(So you will definitely be cicking older posts more times than you want to admit) Her and her story have been a part of the Oprah show and the Today’s Show. VERY inspirational mother, friend,daughter,sister,….HUMAN BEING!

    http://www.nieniedialogues.blogspot.com/

  6. December 18, 2009 7:17 am

    thanks for the shout out…also love your use of Daily Drop Cap…I ony used it once because I forget about it.

    • Mandy permalink*
      December 18, 2009 10:24 am

      funny how you said that on the post that i forgot to use it. heh.

  7. December 18, 2009 6:04 pm

    you have a beautiful blog as well! I love reading all your post!

  8. December 20, 2009 8:46 am

    Great list! I haven’t read some of these yet – I’ll have to check them out!

  9. December 20, 2009 6:29 pm

    I love DearBaby and Babyrabies of course, both are fun in different ways. Of the others you mention some are already in my reader, some are not. Yay for new blogs to play in!

Leave a Reply

