Skip to content

unfortunate doesn’t even begin to describe this.

December 14, 2009

it’s ok. you can laugh. point if you need to. hold your belly in a way suggesting that it hurts from laughing so hard. this little gem comes to you courtesy of 1993, placing me at 12 years old and obviously very well versed in fashion. i personally can’t decide which accessory is my favorite : the super amazing red blazer (i mean really, a blazer?) complete with shoulder pads and tres chic sparkly santa pin, the purple mock turtleneck (a ’90’s staple), or the craft fair light bulb earrings. i can tell you with confidence that i was wearing black stirrup pants and white keds. i remember this exact Christmas vividly because it was the year i received the gift i wanted so badly that i lied to my mom about why i needed it : an electric razor. as you can see, i was a rather tall 6th grader and i hit puberty much earlier than my mother would have liked (read: i was a raging horrible you-know-what starting at age 9). i told my mom, along with my best friend lauren, who told her mom, that girls at school were making fun of me for having hairy legs so i would be able to shave. they weren’t but i guarantee you they should have been. hello italian hair follicles!

as you can see, i was totes stoked at my newly acquired razor. either that or i had psychic abilities and was looking into the future and laughing at the misfortune that was the 1990’s.

sidenote: if you look closely at the pictures from this past weekends xmas party, i was fully wearing a navy blue blazer. i guess i didn’t learn all that much in 16 years? oh, except that a blazer sans shoulder pads, red polyester and a boxy cut is ok.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 12:30 pm

    This may be the most beautiful thing I have ever seen.

  2. December 14, 2009 12:43 pm

    I’m pretty sure we were separated at birth. From the hairy legs to the awful 90s attire, I completely understand. And I love that you’ve embraced the past :)

  3. December 14, 2009 1:47 pm

    lol to the Italian hair follicles! I too had to tell my mom that I was being made fun of (I don’t know if it was true- but I bet it was!) in 5th grade. In reality, I don’t think it was that bad- I was just in a HUGE hurry to be 16!

  4. kerri permalink
    December 14, 2009 4:29 pm

    you just made my day….thank you.

  5. December 14, 2009 4:55 pm

    Ok I forgot to mention this before as I was on a conference call and didn’t want to go all nutty while I was trying to concentrate on things that I am paid cash money to concentrate on. Because I am a grown up and I can control myself.

    I BEGGED for any kind of razor in 8th grade, because I DID have the crazy leg hair and kids WERE making fun of me. A boy named George Smart at Howard Bishop Middle School in Gainesville Florida (IF YOU KNOW HIM, FEEL FREE TO GO KEY HIS CAR!) called me an EWOK. Every day. In at least three classes a day. For over a year.

    I don’t even know if he ever knew my actual name.

    I just googled him. Can’t find anything about him. Therefore George Smart = nobody. Ha.

    SCREW YOU GEORGE SMART! I HOPE YOUR LIFE SUCKS!

    Thanks. You can uh, have your blog back now. Sorry ’bout that.

  6. December 15, 2009 6:21 am

    Awesome. Oh, blazers with shoulderpads, how cool they were! In 1993, I was a senior in high school and my taste ran more towards cut off jean shorts (I went to a school that had pretty much no dress code) with black tights, doc martens, and a big t-shirt or something. probably a blazer over that. Heh. Good times, good times.

    And I had to shave starting at age 10, so I feel your pain.

  7. david permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:39 am

    you haven’t changed one bit!

  8. December 16, 2009 2:05 pm

    Almost as unfortunate, I contemplated buying some black stirrups last weekend.

    Thanks for the email, Mandy! Sorry I rushed onto the Top Baby Blogs scene like that, I just joined a little while ago and posted my button so it was all of the ‘What the crap is that?” ::click:: traffic. The novelty of it is gone though, so feel free to cruise on by me. I’m a lover not a fighter.

    Ditto on the blog roll business! Pleasure to ‘meet’ you!

Leave a Reply

