Skip to content

i can’t even fall off the wagon right.

December 8, 2009

R emember how i was all, i’m not getting dressed today and i don’t hafta if i don’t wanna, and blah blah blah blooh blah? well when Scot arrived home he said he wanted to go grocery shopping. grocery shopping = leaving the house. leaving the house = getting dressed. because i am not about to be that girl at the grocery store. yes, perhaps in my very early 20’s i would venture out in the jams, on purpose even. i had a velour track suit ( i know, right?) and thought it was perfectly acceptable, if not cute, to wear to the store. all i was lacking really was something obnoxious printed across my ass. i never got into that. (yay?) but these days? oh hail no. somewhere in the mid-late 20’s a blurry line appears where you just aren’t forgiven for such fashion crimes. instead, i’d be the mom who let myself go and “omg, that poor handsome guy she’s with, i bet she used to wash her hair and put rouge on” (obviously it would be an old lady dissing on me). besides, it gave me a reason to wear some new accessories i bought yesterday. i laughed as my twitter update about getting myself and Harper dressed at 5pm elicited responses such as “isn’t it a little late in the day?”, because YES it was a little late in the day (as in, it was dark). aw well, at least i did it, and since this is my blog and i can do what i want, i give myself a smidge more than 75 percent credit today (50% for putting a bra on first thing this morning [yet not using that opportunity to just get dressed – crap, i am awesome] and 25.83% for getting fully dressed later in the day).  i consider today a raging success.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. kerri permalink
    December 9, 2009 5:30 am

    ha ha…i did think after my comment on twitter that i was not being supportive….so i want to say good for you!!! good job! hell i would have talked the hubs out of going to the grocery store by that point! you look SUPER pretty!!! (great photo! love your processing…very vintage!!!)

  2. December 9, 2009 5:33 am

    I say that’s a 100% success. There wasn’t a time limit on when you had to get dressed right? :) BTW…love what you do to your pictures. Do you do that yourself or do you use a program? I love photoshop…but sadly can’t afford that hefty price right now. Love the new pic of Harper in the beanie…so cute!!

  3. December 9, 2009 8:17 am

    Your hat and scarf are darling! You look like you’re off to shop at a French market. Tres chic.

    • May 16, 2017 4:41 am

      That’s a slick answer to a chlieanglng question

    • May 31, 2017 9:53 am

      ok initiativa black friday, am vizitat site-ul are preturi ok, pe alocuri mici, dar eu prefer sa imi cumpar haine din magazin, fie ca e vorba de incaltaminte, fie imbracaminte, imi este mai simplu sa vad marfa cu ochii mei.

  4. Jennifer permalink
    December 9, 2009 9:09 am

    I found you on top baby blogs and am currently on bed rest, so I therefore read every blog I can find obsessively. Anyway, I think you should run a 12 step program. I stopped getting dressed weeks ago because, seriously, I never leave the house and none of of my pants fit anymore anyway. I can totally see this developing into a disturbing trend. You could start a website where new stay at home moms have to upload daily pictures, proving they’re properly attired for leaving the house (or greeting the UPS man, as the case may be.)

    • Mandy permalink*
      December 9, 2009 10:09 am

      lol, a 12 step program. maybe once i am fully rehabilitated. :]

  5. Mae permalink
    December 9, 2009 10:03 am

    Give.me.your.hat.

  6. December 9, 2009 1:41 pm

    so, im a friend of a friend of a friend i guess and have been reading your blog for a while. since operation wear a bra has begun, i’ve just read and laughed…until yesterday! when the fedex guy came to MY HOUSE! and i couldn’t open the door! luckily, they left in on my door step and just to prove to myself i could open the door i opened it and waived! (but not until he was back in the truck and there was no way he could see my greasy hair and bra-less chest! so this morning i woke up before corbin, plucked my eyebrows, put a bra on, (although im still in sweats and tank but at least they match!) and did my hair and makeup a little. just wanted to say thanks for the inspiration! :) i know my husband will thank you too. poor guy.

  7. December 9, 2009 6:48 pm

    I would totally give you an A+. 50 for the bra, 25 for getting dressed and another 25 for that cute little outfit you have going on in that picture!

  8. December 11, 2009 3:41 pm

    I love the accessories!

  9. May 16, 2017 2:26 am

    very rarely pick up an art tool and create amazing artworks the first time. If you DO that, yo8;1u2#7&re an outlier – you’re not the norm and that kind of result

Leave a Reply

