Skip to content

confirmed : i’ve let myself go.

December 2, 2009

Y esterday the UPS guy came to drop off a package (thanks Bobbi! it’s SO cute!). when the doorbell rang i suddenly realized there was no way i could answer it. looking amazing in my striped pj pants, target t-shirt complete with banana crust, no bra and frightful no makeup face, there was no way i was about to greet someone (for fear i might scare them, or induce pity “poor lady…”). i peeked through the blinds and was relieved to see them pulling away (yay! no signature required!). it was then i realized how not ok this scenario was. it’s not like it was a one time thing, looking this much of a mess. ha ha, no no, this is a daily occurence my friends. my bra and i meet probably 3 days a week. sometimes we make it a party and invite powder and mascara. but most days, there is no freaking way i could greet an uninvited guest.

oddly enough, Harper always has an outfit on, hair brushed, maybe a cute clippy and is fed, beveraged, snacked and changed every day without fail. granted she is way more important than me and she always comes first, but i have forgotten to take care of myself in the process. in the past couple months, there is not a weekday that has gone by where i’ve eaten before 4pm. you know, food, the sustenance of life? yeah, i don’t partake in that. next thing i know Scot is home (probably wondering what the hell happened to his wife and why the hell won’t she put a bra on once in a while?) and i’m starving and cranky and…it’s not good.

i just got dressed for the first time in 3 days (judge away). sure the pj pants have changed and don’t worry, the undies too, but actual clothes you could leave the house in without being featured on people of walmart dot com? no. my ladies are straight chillin’ in underwire right now ( i think i just heard them scream “thank you!”) and my hair is clean. i haven’t applied makeup yet, but i intend to when i’m finished telling the interweb how gross i am.

i have to be better for my kid. i have to show her that you have to take care of yourself in order to take care of others. i have to show her i’m important, too. so i’m really going to work on being better and treating myself better. cripes, i used to wear heels and lip gloss 5 days a week, get mani/pedi’s every two weeks and curl my hair on the daily. if i have time to post a tweet, i have time to apply mascara. if i have time to fix H lunch, i have time to make myself something, too. my poor husband has suffered long enough.

so begins operation: wear a bra. for the next week i will get up early enough to get dressed, eat breakfast, look presentable and be able to answer my door proudly/be ready in case of a fire. no, i won’t stop trying after that, but i’ll only document it here for a week. baby steps people. and you know, accountability for my actions and whatnot.

i’d say wish me luck, but i don’t think i really deserve well-wishes for trying to be a functioning human being.

Click To Vote For Us @ Top Baby Blogs Directory!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. kerri permalink
    December 2, 2009 2:52 pm

    first off i would like to say that i do not sit at my computer waiting for you to post a blog…it just so happens i walked through the door and the laptop was on the kitchen counter.
    anywho…i blogged about this the other day…you did it sooo much better by the way. your post describes me to a tee. i am never presentable to answer the door…and my poor husband comes home everyday for lunch to find me in my pj’s with my hair a mess…i feel sad for him….hell i feel sad for me. it really is down right pathetic. i seriously think my bewbs will be down to my knees by the time i am 30 if i continue on this bra-less/not getting dressed path.
    (unfortunately i have the eating thing under control…or out of control…lol. )

  2. December 2, 2009 3:17 pm

    I’m right there with ya! I’m lucky if I get dressed in something other than workout pants and a t-shirt..which I end wearing to bed…so I guess that makes them pj’s??? :) I’ve been trying a little experiment myself lately. I don’t do it everyday, but like you said…baby steps. I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of The Fly Lady, but she has a great website that talks about how to manage your home..like cleaning, clutter, etc. The first baby step is to get up and get yourself dressed from head to toe, including shoes on your feet. I have to tell you…I get SO much done when I actually make the effort in the morning. Anywhoo….just thought I’d pass that along :)

    • Mandy permalink*
      December 2, 2009 10:23 pm

      i’m totally not going to put shoes on, but everything else for sure! it’s just that i hate wearing shoes. :]

  3. December 2, 2009 3:22 pm

    As my homeboy Drake says : “Sweat pants – hair tied- chillin’ with no make-up on. That’s when you’re the prettiest I hope that you don’t take it wrong”

    lol. Yes, I quoted a former Degrassi star.

    But, that’s my defense.

  4. Kelly permalink
    December 2, 2009 4:33 pm

    You’re not alone lady. Happens to the best of us SAHM’s. I certainly feel better when I take the time to shower and fix my hair even if I stay home. I love that you said you’re gonna do it for Harper and not just you. I never thought of it that way, but I’m all for making myself a better person for the kiddo! Good luck, you will feel great for doing it!

  5. December 2, 2009 5:23 pm

    Don’t be too hard on yourself! You pretty much described me on the days I get to be home with Audrey :) Actually, as soon as I get home the bra, jewls, and good clothes come off. It’s hard to remember yourself when your #1 priority is the baby…while on maternity leave I always made it my goal to at least take a shower, put on decent lounge wear and do my makeup. It helped me feel human! It’s all about baby steps and I know you can do this!!

  6. December 2, 2009 5:33 pm

    You said it, chica! Well put, and definitely something I can relate to. I feel downright gross sometimes and think about all the shopping I used to do for myself to feel all pretty. Clothes, makeup, shoes, accessories ….. but not anymore, my friend. Don’t have the time or the cash! I cannot TELL you how my wardrobe has suffered since the babe arrived. Like you said, my poor, poor husband.

    But the bewbs? I gots’ta keep these bewbs in check, so they’re pretty much supported all the time.

    Thanks for such an entertaining post!

  7. December 2, 2009 9:59 pm

    I laughed throughout this entire post. I can totally relate to this post. I am guilty of the same!!! Btw, I’m new here and love your blog.

    • Mandy permalink*
      December 2, 2009 10:26 pm

      thanks for saying hi!

  8. December 2, 2009 10:04 pm

    Thank you for confirming that my decision today was the right one….not chopping ones hair into a “cute and playful bob” a mere 4.5 months in advance of the arrival of my first child was probably one of the only rational things I’ve done lately. Not that I blame you, you’ve just made it even more apparent that the likelihood of finding the time, let alone energy, to meet up with my blow dryer on a daily basis is less than likely to happen :)

    • Mandy permalink*
      December 2, 2009 10:29 pm

      blow dryer? daily? HA. and for the sake of all that is holy, do not cut your hair. my hair was long and flowy until i was about 7 months along with Harper, then the crazy pregnant lady hair cutting hormone kicked in and now i’m desperately trying to replace my locks.

      • May 16, 2017 3:37 am

        Wow, awesome weblog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog glance easy. The whole glance of your website is mainefgcint, well the content material!

    • May 16, 2017 3:24 am

      I got the same email a few days ago because of this post. Yesterday was calmer, I got around 1/4 of the traffic compared to Tuesday. For today, its almost a third of Tua#dey&s8217;s traffic.

  9. silenceandnoise permalink
    December 3, 2009 4:36 pm

    Same here. I open the door and fedex guy says: “sorry to wake you up miss!!” Wut? It was 11 am. I had been up for six hours already and was more awake than ever… just looking like shiz. I feel sorry that Bresho has to look at my unfortunate appereance all day long. Gotta get it together too!

  10. Kristi permalink
    December 4, 2009 9:35 am

    I usually stay in jammies most of the day too. Mostly because I don’t venture out into the real world too often. When I do I always get dressed and atleast try to put some cover up on my zits/dark circles under eyes. My theory is that if I get dressed for no reason then that is just more laundry THAT I HAVE TO DO! And I for one despise laundry in a big way. If I saw my husband daily I may consider getting dressed more often…

Leave a Reply

