Skip to content

[insert pig/bacon/oinking joke here]

November 18, 2009

I t’s a sad state of affairs in the M household. this morning Harper woke up with a high fever that scared the crap out of me. her skin was scorching when i picked her up, so i knew immediately she had a fever, but she was acting totally normal. her temp was 102.1 so i knew something was really wrong. i called the dr. and they said to come in since it was such a sudden fever.

i gave her a dose of tylenol, some breakfast (she would only eat the banana, and threw her pancakes on the ground, so i knew something wasn’t right because holy heck, those are her favorite) and got her dressed to go. her fever had totally gone down by the time we got to the dr.s office. in fact, she seemed so well that i felt a little silly being there, and a little bummed that i was going to pay for an office visit that was unneeded (goooooo no insurance! yay america!). dr. lavinder checked her out, she was weighed (still chillin’ at 19 pounds) and then came the big mean lady with the flu swab. just…wow. i thought shots were bad. no, sticking a stick up a baby’s nose really far and and then turning the stick in tiny circles? that’s bad. the nurse shimmied out the door like a ninja and left me with my unconsolable child and telling me the results would take at least 10 minutes. FANTASTIC! i’ll just sit here with this baby you just pissed off.

when dr. lavinder came in she was as surprised as i was to report that our little monster has not only type A h1n1, but type b influenza also. isn’t that special? TWO flu’s!

(i am totally using sarcasm and jokes to mask my sadness and bitterness that my poor baby is being subjected to this nonsense. she doesn’t even go to daycare for crying out loud! i sanitize all shopping carts to the point of almost rubbing the stores name off!)

the good news is that we caught it so early that tamiflu is a great option and we’re hoping it will reduce her discomfort over the coming days (oh and guess what? tamiflu only costs ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS! did i mention i love america?). by the time we got home she was back to 102 and had a runny nose and cough. the tamiflu made her throw up (first time ever, and SO sad i cried) which it is known to do. she has mostly been wanting to cuddle with scot and i and clings to her blankie. i’m just hoping we can all survive the next week.

stupid pigs.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. emily bilbrey permalink
    November 19, 2009 4:24 am

    this really is the saddest ever! you must be extra bitter because you did everything right to protect h – you got her vaccinated, she eats healthy food, you keep everything super clean and she’s rarely even in crowded places! hell, I’M bitter FOR you! )-: having just gone through the oink with david getting it, plus poppy’s croup, might i just say we are both over here feeling soooo bad for you guys, and wishing that harper gets over it super quickly. hang in there lady. loves.

    • Mandy permalink*
      November 19, 2009 12:13 pm

      thanks em. loves you. <3

  2. silenceandnoise permalink
    November 19, 2009 5:11 am

    Oh-no, poor Harper! I hope she feels better soon. Make sure you pamper her all day long. I’m glad you took her to the dr. as soon as you realized she had a fever. Keep us posted!

  3. kerri permalink
    November 19, 2009 6:26 am

    oh my goodness…poor little babe!!! 2 flu’s…is that possible? i never would have thought! i feel so sad for H…and frustrated for you! so glad you caught it so soon…and i wish happy get better soon vibes to the nugget!

  4. November 19, 2009 7:04 am

    I am SO sorry for the baby! I hope I didn’t give it to her! Maybe the Grumpy Carseat pic was the clue…?
    Hope you all get well soon! I’ll be checking in to see how I can help.
    Love you all!
    GG

  5. November 19, 2009 7:21 am

    Hi! I just came across your blog and I am so sorry for your baby being sick! Have you considered that maybe the vaccine gave it to her? I hope she gets better soon! :) I just wanted to share my site with you since you have a cute little girl! I am doing a christmas shopping special for every 4 items bought, you get the 5th FREE! Hope youll check it out! Good luck with your baby!
    http://www.sugarandspice1.etsy.com

    • Mandy permalink*
      November 19, 2009 12:15 pm

      hi lexi,
      she got the vaccine almost 3 weeks ago and the virus in the vaccines are dead. she probably picked it up just being out in public. :[
      thanks for stopping by!

  6. Kristi permalink
    November 19, 2009 8:59 am

    Poor baby. That’s so sad. 2 flus. I can’t even imagine going through that, here I am complaining about teething! I hope she feels better soon and can eat her pancakes!

    • Mandy permalink*
      November 19, 2009 12:16 pm

      teething does suck though! <3

  7. November 19, 2009 9:47 am

    Poor sweet little punkin’! And poor Mandy and Scot, too. What a wretched double whammy of flu! Hope you all get through this and it only lasts a few,short days. Hunker-down with cuddles on the couch, loves, and meds :) I’ll be checking in a couple to see how you all are doing. xoxo~ bobbi

  8. November 19, 2009 11:30 am

    Jesus. The poor M family! I am sending huggggsss your way. I cannot even imagine. I hope she feels better soon and that watching the barf wasn’t too hard on you. It’s one of my most dreaded motherhood moments. I’ve seen little kids puke- NOT pleasant and I can only imagine what it feels like to see your own child in that situation.

    Also: I am a Kaiser convert. I freaking LOVE it. They have a couple deals where you can get just a child insurance policy (for like $150.00) or if you qualify they have a $5.00/month $15.00/month or $25.00/month policy that does everything the $150.00 policy does, the price just depends on your income. I was without insurance for a longgg time since we are self employed and I found their prices to be super fair for the whole family & I honestly love the care we get. Kaiser totally gets a bad wrap.

    Anyways, I hope you are dealing OK and be sure to take care of YOU as well as H! <3

  9. kirstenmcc permalink
    November 19, 2009 7:52 pm

    Get well soon Harper!

    Love,
    Mary and Lila

  10. Katie permalink
    November 20, 2009 9:05 am

    So sorry to hear that Miss Harper is sick :( I hope she gets better soon and that you and Scot don’t catch it. hang in there mamma! Loves-Katie

Leave a Reply

