Skip to content

letter to my baby.

October 31, 2009

Dear Harper,

I always planned on writing you a letter for your first birthday, I just didn’t imagine itwould come so quick. I can’t believe it’s been a whole year since you came into our lives.

Being pregnant with you was one of the happiest times of my life, topped only by having you actually here in my arms. Watching you come into this world with your Daddy right by my side was the most miraculous thing I’ve ever done. What a year it’s been. Seeing your personality develop over the months has been such a joy. You are silly, caring, spunky and most of all, hilarious.

Tonight you woke up crying and I rocked you in the rocking chair trying to comfort you. You took up my whole chest and lap! You used to fit snuggly on one shoulder. I held you and tried to mentally file away the whole moment in my memory bank. Your little hand grasping your blankie, your cheek on my chest, the gentle weight of your little body snuggling against me. You may not understand my love for you until you have a baby of your own, but i’ll say it anyways – I love you more than words can ever say. I love you so much it makes my heart hurt sometimes. You are the sunshine of my life.

(If you’re reading this as a teenager, you might be totally grossed out by how mushy I am being right now, and that’s ok. Just pull this letter out again when you’re say, 30).

This past year you’ve had many firsts. It seemed each week brought something new, and you were constantly changing. Rolling over, giggling, sitting up, then crawling, now almost walking. There are a world of firsts in front of you. First steps, first skinned knee, first words, first day of school, first love, first heartbreak – your life is ahead of you. I hope you know I’ll be there for you for all of these things and more.

I am so excited to see the little girl, then young lady, then woman you will become. Their are so many memories to be made and I just want you to know, and always know, I am so very proud to be your Mommy.

Happy birthday, my beautiful girl.

Love,

Mommy

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    October 31, 2009 6:45 am

    I was hoping you would post before Harper’s big shindig today cuz I wanted to come by and wish her a very happpy first birthday! I love your letter; it got me all teary eyed. I hope Harper has a wonderful day!

  2. October 31, 2009 6:54 am

    love your letter!!! happy first birthday harper!!! enjoy your BIG day!!!

  3. Mary permalink
    October 31, 2009 7:50 am

    Mandy, your letter to your daughter is beautiful! Happy Birthday little girl!

  4. October 31, 2009 8:27 am

    There’s nothing deeper than a mother’s love.

  5. October 31, 2009 9:06 am

    This makes my heart smile!! :)

  6. emily bilbrey permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:34 am

    i kind of knew i shouldn’t look, cause something like this would be here. now i’m all teary-eyed and it’s hard for me to see the keyboard! love it, love harper, love you! congrats on your wonderful baby’s first birthday. she is delightful. xoxo!

  7. November 2, 2009 8:31 am

    Mandy,
    I’m sorry now that I never wrote you a letter on your first birthday! Just know that most of what you said I would have ditto’d! You are my sunshine and I am so very proud of the woman you have become. And I’m so very proud of the Mother that you are!
    It’s hard to believe that a year ago I was allowed to watch Harper come into the world. I was so honored!
    Miss Harper, you are one amazing kiddo! Happy Birthday!
    Love to you all,
    GG

  8. Katie permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:26 pm

    beautiful letter Mandy! What a treasure for Harper to have for the rest of her life.

  9. Jenn permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:28 pm

    Happy 1st birthday, Harper! I cant believe that my Emma Kate will be one in a just a few short months. I have been following your blog and old blog since before you even had Harper and around when you got pregnant. I have enjoyed watching you two grow!

  10. Tiffany permalink
    November 7, 2009 10:50 pm

    Mandy-
    I finally got on to see Harpers adorable birthday pics and ran across your letter and now I am crying! My big Saturday night boohoo….seriously though, it is beautiful. Your right it took me to almost 30 and having a kiddo of my own to getit!

  11. November 23, 2009 12:56 pm

    I just stop in to read a bit and now I’m crying. Gee, thanks :)
    I really should do this soon, too. This is the kind of thing you can’t do after the fact (aka fake) and you will always regret it. Good for you for even doing it this close to the 1st birthday. Extra kudos?

Leave a Reply

