Skip to content

girls.

May 28, 2009

i often wonder how girly Harper will turn out to be. i don’t think i was too girly, but i sure liked certain girly stuff. i had hair down to my butt when i was a little girl, and a barrette holder full of pairs of frilly clips, bows a barrettes (the holder was a girls head with long yellow braided pigtails that you clipped the barrettes to). i loved cabbage patch dolls and rainbrow bright, but i also got into the dirt and played with micromachines with the neighbor boys. i rode my bike for hours a day, even flipping over the handlebars once and knocking my front teeth out. i always had scraped knees and callouses on my hands from the bars at the playground (another accident where i knocked teeth out). my favorite my little pony was white and purple, and you can find it in at least 2 of my professional photos of my mom and i when i was little. i had a dufflebag full of barbies, and so many barbies that i could give them haircuts, shave their heads and still have plenty of others to play with.

when i was pregnant and scot i were at target after learning we were cooking a girl, we came upon a disney princesses swimsuit. it was pink and had belle, arielle and cinderella across the belly. scot pointed to it and with his signature wide-eyed look said “NO”. i laughed and wholeheartedly agreed. what’s funny is that it isn’t our choice (we see that now). if harper likes disney princesses, she likes disney princesses. hell, i liked disney princesses. i mean, we can choose not to buy her the swimsuit (but why do i have a feeling he’d buy it in a heartbeat if it made her happy?).

my poor mom. she had to give in and let me have a perm at the age of 9. she had to give in and let me use sun-in on my hair at the age of 11 (hello orange hair). i liked makeup, i liked hairspray and i liked trying to cut my own bangs (something she hated). in 6th grade, lied and told my mom girls at school were making fun of me so i could start shaving my legs (no one had, but they sure as hell should have – italian = hair). in 10th grade, my best friend lauren and i let our friend jessica “foil” our hair. i will never forget rinsing my hair upside down in the sink and seeing my white striped hair in front of my eyes. HUGE chunks of practically see through white hair. lauren cried enough to get her mom to fix it THAT night. i however, showed up at school the next day horrified to see her hair back to it’s original brown, while i got called zebra (this is a story Lauren’s mom even told at Laurens wedding rehearsal dinner speech, that is how traumatizing it was for the both of us – and how funny it was to our moms at the time). i also LOVED tanning lotion. this was before the decent stuff they have now. i had orange hands, and orange skin for most of jr high. oh man. i hope Harper makes better beauty choices than i did. i also hope she hits puberty a little later than i did (hello, NINE) so she can’t use her hormones against me like i did to my mom (sorry again, mama).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. roxanneemolina permalink
    May 28, 2009 5:15 pm

    I wonder the same with Sienna! We joke that she will want to be a cheerleader… I also had to laugh and remember the jr high/high school stuff, haha!

  2. roxanneemolina permalink
    May 28, 2009 5:15 pm

    I wonder the same with Sienna! We joke that she will want to be a cheerleader… I also had to laugh and remember the jr high/high school stuff, haha!

  3. kmcclelland permalink
    May 28, 2009 7:06 pm

    Aaaahhh! I'm laughing as I read this. Love the memories! I totally wonder the same things about M&L…I wonder if one will be girly and the other one not, and if that happens, will they still get along and play and be BFFs (which I desperately want them to be)?

  4. kmcclelland permalink
    May 28, 2009 7:06 pm

    Aaaahhh! I'm laughing as I read this. Love the memories! I totally wonder the same things about M&L…I wonder if one will be girly and the other one not, and if that happens, will they still get along and play and be BFFs (which I desperately want them to be)?

Leave a Reply

