Skip to content

ground hogs day.

May 15, 2009


that’s what it feels like to be a stay at home mom. every day is exactly like the last, with a few details different (like how much of another humans pee or poop lands on your body, or maybe one day you actually get to put your bra on). some people like schedules, to know what they’re going to do when they’re going to do it. not me, really. i like a little spontaneity. yes i’m thankful that Harper is on a schedule (that she set for herself), but tomorrow is Friday and I haven’t done a darn thing this week (with the exception of monday). i’ve washed dishes twice a day everyday, cleaned the same bottles 5 times, took 5 naps on the couch with a sleeping baby, watched ellen, the 4th hour of the today show and days of our lives 5 times, and sang the same songs and changed 5 diapers every day (yep, she even pees and poops on a schedule).

note to harper: mommy is just venting in a blog on the internets ok? i in no way want you to start doing things all crazy like at crazy times. please do not take me literally and start wanting to stay up all night or eat every two hours.

my weekly trip to target is not only getting old ( i rarely see something new), but expensive (LOVE YOU hunny!). at first, target was a big outing. it took me lots of time to get out of the house and lots of time to shop. well now i’ve got the hang of it so it’s just an errand at this point. mom and baby yoga costs over 100 bucks a month (and thats only for one time a week) and there are NO mom groups in the harbor. i’d have to drive to tacoma. what peeves me is i see other stay at home moms out and about during the day. they are here! what do i do, just go up and hit on them to make a play date? my friend meg wrote about the perrils of “mommy dating” and it’s scary out there! i’m this close to making my own group. but what would be sadder than me and Harper sitting in a coffee shop waiting for our blind date to show up and no one coming at all?

don’t get me wrong, i LOVE being at home. i wouldn’t trade it for the world (although i might pay someone a dollar to wash the bottles). i know that summer is coming (?) and soon we’ll be able to go out and play, take walks, ect. right now it just feels like weeks are passing by. at least they’re passing by and i get to spend everyday with my bff.

omg! i saw harper up on her hands and knees for a split second today. she is loving pushing herself backwards, especially in her crib. she can push herself up so far on her tummy now. gah. i bought some organic green beans and peas to start making her food this week. so excited to see her face when real food gets in there. i gave her some avacado last week while we were at lunch with GG and she LOVED it. stay tuned for pictures of solid fud 2009.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly and Natalie permalink
    May 15, 2009 2:03 pm

    Mandy, I could have written this exact post yesterday! I am a person who LOVES schedules, craves them really, but sometimes I get soooooo bored with the same old, same old. I search my brain for something to do, and I got nothing! Yesterday was rough for me. All day I was like, sigh and ho hum. I wish I knew how to break the monotony. If we didn’t live clear across the country from each other, I would so take you up on that coffee date!

  2. Katie and Kevin permalink
    May 15, 2009 8:56 pm

    Hang in there cous! I think you should start a mommy group, I’m sure there are other mommies in your area wanting to hook up. Summer is the perfect time for outings with new friends!

  3. Kirsten permalink
    May 16, 2009 5:08 am

    I hear you about the mommy-dating! I'm in a twins group, but we only get together once every few weeks now that lots of us are back at work. I don't know many other mommies! On my spring break last month, there were about 2 hours of sunshine and I took M&L for a walk. We ended up at a park near my house, and all the other mommies and their kids knew each other and were playing, and I was like, hmmm…I am totally the new kid on the block! It was pretty lonely. We walked home b/c I couldn't get up the nerve to "join in."

Leave a Reply

