Skip to content

first mothers day!

May 11, 2009


what a great one. harper spent the night with GG and scot got up and let me sleep in. when he
returned much later with the kiddo, he had a bouquet of flowers and the best card i’ve ever gotten. when you open it, scot had recorded a message to me, followed by phil collins. um, amazing. made me tear up big time! when we left for the day i was surprised to see my car was sparkiling clean and completely spotless inside, too! just what i wanted. he had spent the morning washing and detailing the whole thing. loves. we spent the afternoon at the olalla house with scots parents, sister and brother-in-law and nephews. it was great to see my in-laws and spend time with two ladies who inspire the heck out of me – my mother-in-law and sister-in-law. it was a lazy day of hanging out on blankets on the grass, naps and kiddos. it was really great. later we had dinner with my personal hero, my mom! scot took the two of us out for mothers day dinner and i am still full like 4hours later. a lady eating with her family almost went into cardiac arrest as i was carrying harper to the table. she gasped, yelled “oh my gawd! she’s beautiful!” and then looked genuinely embarrassed that she reacted so loudly. it was by far the most extreme reaction i’ve seen, but scot was telling me that when he took harper to the grocery store this morning, ladies were freaking out about her. hopefully she doesn’t get such a big head she can’t fit in her carseat.

i absolutely loved my first mothers day. i got to spend it very important people, and i finally GET it. everything my mom went through for me, did for me, put up with from me. man, i was a bad kid sometimes. by kid i mean age 9-17. sorry again, mom. becoming a parent really helps to understand everything more clearly when it comes to your parents. not only did my mom do this, but she did it all on her own. you’re amazing mama! i love you, and harper is SO lucky to have a GG as wonderful as you. with you and Bobbi as her grandmas, she is quite possibly the luckiest kid alive.

happy mothers day to my grandma, my auntie, my aunt sherry, cousin katie, emily and all the other mamas, mamas to be, and hopeful mamas out there.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:40 pm

    Ok. you made me cry! Thank you for all the kind words – SORTA makes up for all the grief you caused (just kidding!). You have always been the biggest blessing of my life. You are an amazing woman, and a great mama! I love you. thank you, too, to Scot, for being such a great son-in-law. we’re lucky to have you in our lives.
    Mom/GG

  2. Anonymous permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:40 pm

    Ok. you made me cry! Thank you for all the kind words – SORTA makes up for all the grief you caused (just kidding!). You have always been the biggest blessing of my life. You are an amazing woman, and a great mama! I love you. thank you, too, to Scot, for being such a great son-in-law. we’re lucky to have you in our lives.
    Mom/GG

  3. bobbi permalink
    May 11, 2009 8:40 pm

    It was a wonderful day, wasn’t it? I love you lots and am so thankful for you, Harper, and Scot in my life. And, yes, I agree that your mom is pretty amazing! Give her a hug for me.

  4. bobbi permalink
    May 11, 2009 8:40 pm

    It was a wonderful day, wasn’t it? I love you lots and am so thankful for you, Harper, and Scot in my life. And, yes, I agree that your mom is pretty amazing! Give her a hug for me.

Leave a Reply

