Skip to content

chef mandy.

May 2, 2009

well i’m about to embark on my newest baby endeavor – at home baby food! my mom made my baby food and it’s something i am really excited about doing for Harper. jarred baby food has always bothered me and after doing my research on what is in those jars (preservatives -(how else can a jar of food stay good in a pantry for over a year), and starches and salts and fillers) coupled with the fact that i have plenty of time to make it myself, there is no good reason not to. i also love the fact that i will have complete control of what she eats and i’ll know exactly where it came from. giving my little lady the good stuff she deserves makes me happy!

i bought the book Homemade Baby Food, Pure & Simple and ordered Baby Cubes. this book not only has the recipes, but guidelines on when to introduce foods to your baby. i love it already. i’m excited about the Baby Cubes because they will make things easy, and i love easy. they have lids attached (i HATE plastic containers and lids, i curse them as they fall out of the cabinet daily) and of course are BPA free.

it makes me happy to know that Harper will never have to know the tast of ham in a jar (seriously, Scot and i saw that at the grocery store and omg, EW, it looked like hot pink cat throw up in a jar – sorry Gerber…and readers). and of course we will be buying all organic for Harpers fud. even with organic it will cost about 1/3 of jarred baby food. and who doesn’t like saving some benjamins?

i’ll keep everyone updated on how it goes. since cereal is not in the nuggets future after the Great Constipation of ’09, it will be fun to see her face when something actually tastes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 2, 2009 6:12 pm

    We make all of M&L's food…organic fruits/veggies (haven't ventured into the meats dept. yet, but we've got a pretty sturdy cuisinart so maybe in a few months…). It's not hard, and I agree…I LOVE knowing that they're not getting preservatives and fillers. We freeze ours in ice cube trays, pop the cubes into large freezer bags, and label the food/date on the bag. At meal time you just pop a few cubes in the microwave and it's like a Martha Stewart special! :)

    -Kirsten

  2. Anonymous permalink
    May 2, 2009 6:12 pm

    We make all of M&L's food…organic fruits/veggies (haven't ventured into the meats dept. yet, but we've got a pretty sturdy cuisinart so maybe in a few months…). It's not hard, and I agree…I LOVE knowing that they're not getting preservatives and fillers. We freeze ours in ice cube trays, pop the cubes into large freezer bags, and label the food/date on the bag. At meal time you just pop a few cubes in the microwave and it's like a Martha Stewart special! :)

    -Kirsten

  3. Anonymous permalink
    May 2, 2009 6:13 pm

    BTW–I LOVE all your Harper pics. I’ve been reading your blog but am not smart enough to figure out how to comment. It doesn’t like my WordPress user name. So, from now on, I’ll be “anonymous”.

    -Kirsten

  4. Anonymous permalink
    May 2, 2009 6:13 pm

    BTW–I LOVE all your Harper pics. I’ve been reading your blog but am not smart enough to figure out how to comment. It doesn’t like my WordPress user name. So, from now on, I’ll be “anonymous”.

    -Kirsten

  5. Jenn permalink
    May 5, 2009 1:52 am

    I’d love to make Emma Kate’s food as well, so please send me any info!!

  6. Jenn permalink
    May 5, 2009 1:52 am

    I’d love to make Emma Kate’s food as well, so please send me any info!!

Leave a Reply

