Skip to content

my poor little munchkin.

April 9, 2009

the past 2 days have been sad and interesting around here. after introducing rice cereal to Harper last week, her system seems to be boycotting by not, ahem, moving things along properly. Saturday was the last time i had fed her the cereal, but noticed Monday that i hadn’t seen a poopy diaper all day or Sunday. my worst fears were confirmed yesterday when my poor little lady was making some very uncomfortable sounds…and then of course the visual confirmation that i got. :(

Scot headed to the grocery store to get some prune juice. mixed it with water and besides the silly face she made when she realized it wasn’t her normal bottle, it went down easy. surprisingly, she slept ok last night, but woke up making the same SAD noises, obviously trying to get that cork (sorry guys, there is no other way to put it) out. i wanted to go have lunch with my mom today, but was weary that the prune juice might kick in or that she would be miserable and making her noises and people would wonder what the heck was wrong with my kid. luckily, about 10 minutes before we headed out, i was able to help her finally get things moving. it was by far the saddest, most heart wrenching 5 minutes of motherhood i’ve had so far. her looking at me for help and crying was awful. not to mention all i could think of was my first poop after giving birth – aka one of the worst experiences of my life (right up there with my first pregnancy bout of constipation, which a select few of you actually know the story of…). i knew what my little lady was feeling and i just felt so awful. i’m not sure who was more relieved when it was over, me or her.

i never thought i’d be texting my husband to say excitedly “the turd is out!!!!” or that he would ever immediately call me to say “YAY!”, but hey, that is what happens when you have a kid. we did end up seeing GG for lunch (big hi to all of her co-workers that read my blog!) and of course everyone loved seeing her. further confirmation that we made a cute, possibly the cutest, baby around. ;)

on an ending note – nothing can really describe the mess of a diaper i was faced with later this afternoon when the prune juice actually kicked in. i mean WOW. we have a much happier, empty baby sleeping right now, and i could not be happier.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly and Natalie permalink
    April 9, 2009 3:17 pm

    The first time Natalie was constipated was so sad! I was changing a pee diaper and saw the little (huge) turd coming out and she was crying and so upset. It just about made me cry! I called the pedi ASAP cuz she was only 2 months at the time, so I didn’t know what to do to prevent that from happening again! So now if she goes 3 days without a poop, it’s AJ for her. It works wonders! Glad your lil nugget is feeling better!

  2. Kelly and Natalie permalink
    April 9, 2009 3:17 pm

    The first time Natalie was constipated was so sad! I was changing a pee diaper and saw the little (huge) turd coming out and she was crying and so upset. It just about made me cry! I called the pedi ASAP cuz she was only 2 months at the time, so I didn’t know what to do to prevent that from happening again! So now if she goes 3 days without a poop, it’s AJ for her. It works wonders! Glad your lil nugget is feeling better!

  3. Jenna permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:35 pm

    I have sent Kevin the same text! It was after a week of no poop. THAT was interesting! Glad she’s doing better

  4. Jenna permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:35 pm

    I have sent Kevin the same text! It was after a week of no poop. THAT was interesting! Glad she’s doing better

Leave a Reply

