Skip to content

shhh, do you hear that?

January 28, 2009

it’s peace and QUIET! Scot took Harper to his moms for the day and holy cow did i sleep in. well, with the exception of packing a bag for Bobbi’s house and kissing my little munchkin goodbye this morning. i am NOT ashamed to tell you I have just recently made my way out of bed for the first time. new mamas out there can relate – you will never be caught up on sleep. it’s just a new way of life – being tired most days, finding a great concealer for your under eyes (ladies, this is a miracle worker), and downing the coffee. it’s taken me 3 months to adjust to this new lifestyle of not sleeping (and when i say “adjusted”, i mean there are still mornings where i whine and even get teary eyed because i do not want to get up). the lack of night-night time has been the hardest part of this whole baby thing. they warn you when the baby is still in your belly, “get your sleep now!”(easy for them to say, they don’t have a ninja-watermelon using their bladder for a trampoline), but you really have NO grasp on how little sleep it will be until the little bundle arrives.

anywho! i am a sore-muscle trainwreck today. my biggest loser dvd is kicking my bum (again, NOT ashamed – those people lost hundreds of pounds! you better believe i’m going to try their workout). it’s going to take some serious motivation, like a glance at my postpartum belly in the mirror, to put that dvd in today. you know, my cocoa butter didn’t let me down, i escaped pregnancy sans stretchmarks (booyah! not a one!), but the skin still stretched…and i sincerely hope it plans on returning to it’s previous state. i know, i know, wishful thinking. but dang – postpartum tummies are weird, yo. still waiting for that annoying line from my belly button down to make it’s departure…and i’m not gonna lie, each day it’s still there, i get more and more panicky that it may never leave! anyone have any insight on when those ugly things fade away?

well fine folks, i am gonna head downstairs and make myself some yummy food and talk myself into working out. for your enjoyment, a precious picture my mama-in-law posted on facebook earlier today (you think she loves her granddaughter or what? :D)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess Impatience permalink
    January 29, 2009 4:11 am

    Hooray, I found you! ON the tummy line thing, I read that it can take up to a year and that sometimes (I’m sorry to be the one to tell you this) it doesn’t actually go away.

    I miss you and Harper is gorgeous and baby legs are awesome and I can’t wait to hear more about the pounds and pounds and pounds you are going to lose.

    Toph.

  2. Bliss04 permalink
    January 29, 2009 3:04 pm

    Mandy, this is exactly my number one fear of having a baby. i’ve been the type of person that needs her sleep, and i don’t know how i’m going to cope without it. probably lots of crying, like you say.

  3. Kelly and Natalie permalink
    January 31, 2009 4:07 pm

    I lay in bed sometimes and wish that Natalie would stop fussing so I didn’t have to get up. And I get teary-eyed when she is having difficulty sitting still long enough to eat, especially in the wee hours.

    I heard the line takes a long time to go away, even longer if you breast-feed. Mine is still there, and I’m a formula momma. It’s very faint, but there.

    YAY for no stretch marks! Mine all appeared at 30 weeks, and my tummy looks AWFUL. Saggy, stretched out skin, with all the stretch marks. I’d show you a pic if I weren’t so embarrassed!

Leave a Reply

